The LGV is a completely new translation of the New Testament from the Greek with commentary notes. It is intended for the last generation of Christians, those who will face the end-times predicted by the Prophets, Jesus, and the Apostles. The LGV is a study Bible for serious shepherds, Bible teachers, and students. It is a very accurate representation of the Greek text in current English, although sacrificing some readability for the sake of accuracy. It is a work in progress.

Most New Testaments follow the book order established by the Roman Catholic Church (Jerome's 4th century Latin Vulgate) which sought to make Rome superior in authority to the Jerusalem assembly and even to the Apostles themselves. Thus Jerome placed "Romans" first among the Epistles, and relegated the "Jewish" Epistles to the back of the canon. However, the LGV organizes the books of the New Testament according to the chronological and geographical spread of the Gospel:

  • Jesus said, "I was not sent except to the lost sheep of the house of Israel" (Matt. 15:24)
  • Jesus sent His Apostles to evangelize in the following order: "You shall be witnesses to Me in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth" (Acts 1:8).
  • Peter explained to his fellow Jews, "To you first, God, having raised up His Servant Jesus, sent Him to bless you, ..." (Act 3:26).
  • Paul explained to the Gentiles that the priority was "to the Jew first, and also to the Greek" (Rom. 1:16; Rom. 2:9-10).
  • The correct order of books helps us view their messages in their historical contexts, and thus provides a better perspective for making correct application to our own times. The LGV divides the books of the New Testament into four sections, each headed up by one of the four Gospels. (The printed edition will follow this format when completed).

    LGV Preface

    The Jerusalem Assembly:
    Gospel of Matthew | James | Jude

    The Ministry of Peter:
    Gospel of Mark | 1 Peter | 2 Peter

    The Ministry of Paul:
    Gospel of Luke | Acts | Galatians | 1 Thessalonians | 2 Thessalonians | 1 Corinthians | 2 Corinthians | Romans | Ephesians | Philippians | Philemon* | Colossians | Hebrews | 1 Timothy | Titus | 2 Timothy

    Ministry of John:
    Gospel of John | 1 John | 2 John | 3 John | Revelation


    * "Philemon" is the letter of Paul to Laodicea mentioned in Colossians 4:16

    Copyright (c) 4Winds Fellowships